- Advertisment -
HomeEconomyBypolls 2022 LIVE: 4.07% in Sangrur, 7.86% in Rampur and 9.21% in...
- Advertisment -

Bypolls 2022 LIVE: 4.07% in Sangrur, 7.86% in Rampur and 9.21% in Azamgarh till 9 am MPNRC

- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

BJP candidate from Sangrur Lok Sabha seat Kewal Singh Dhillon casts his vote as polling is underway in the constituency. (Photo: ANI/Twitter)

- Advertisement -

Chandigarh: Voting began on Thursday morning for by-elections to three Lok Sabha and seven assembly seats in five states and one union territory.

The three Lok Sabha seats are Azamgarh and Rampur in Uttar Pradesh and Sangrur in Punjab. The seven assembly seats are Rajinder Nagar in Delhi, Mandar in Jharkhand, Atmakur in Andhra Pradesh and Agartala, Town Bordowali, Surma and Jabarajnagar in Tripura. Counting of votes will take place on June 26.

Here are the live updates:
- Advertisement -

– Sangrur (Punjab) recorded 4.07% voter turnout.

- Advertisement -

– Tripura | People standing in a queue to cast their vote in the assembly by-elections in the state. Visuals of West Radhapur High School, Jubrajnagar.

– Punjab | Voters queue outside a polling booth in Barnala to cast their vote in the Sangrur Lok Sabha seat vacated by AAP’s Bhagwant Mann after becoming the Punjab CM.

, voter Voting till 9 am

Atmakur (Andhra Pradesh) 11.56%, Agartala (Tripura) 15.29%, Bardowali (Tripura) 16.25%, Soorma (Tripura) 13%, Jubrajnagar (Tripura) 14%, Mandar 13.49% voter turnout. Jharkhand) 5.20 percent in Rajinder Nagar (Delhi).


Voting began at 8 am and will go on till 6 pm amid tight security, officials said, adding that the counting of votes will be done on June 26. There are 15,69,240 eligible voters – 8,30,056 males, 7,39,140 females and 44 from the transgender community – in the Sangrur parliamentary constituency. A total of 16 candidates, including three women, are in the fray.

The main opposition Congress has fielded former Dhuri MLA Dalveer Singh Goldy in the bypoll, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has fielded former Barnala MLA Kewal Dhillon, who joined the saffron party on June 4.

Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) has fielded Kamaldeep Kaur, sister of former Punjab Chief Minister Beant Singh murder case convict Balwant Singh Rajoana. Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar) chief Simranjit Singh Mann is also in the fray.

New Delhi

Voting has begun for Delhi’s Rajinder Nagar bypoll, which is primarily being seen as a battle between a confident AAP and a spirited BJP for the crucial assembly constituency. A total of 1,64,698 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the by-election, in which 14 candidates are in the fray.

The two main contenders – AAP and BJP – have expressed confidence that their candidates will win the bypolls by a huge margin. Voting began at 7 am amid tight security arrangements and is scheduled to be held till 6 pm.

Uttar Pradesh

Voting has begun in Uttar Pradesh’s Azamgarh and Rampur, the Lok Sabha seats considered strongholds of the opposition Samajwadi Party in the state. Over 35 lakh people are eligible to vote in the bypolls and will decide the fate of 19 candidates.

The by-poll to Azamgarh seat was held in the wake of the resignation of Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav, who was elected to the Uttar Pradesh Assembly as an MLA in the elections held earlier this year.

The Rampur seat was vacated by senior SP leader Azam Khan, who was also elected to the state assembly. The office of the Chief Electoral Officer said that the polling began at 7 am and will continue till 6 pm.


Amid tight security, bypolls to four assembly seats in Tripura began at 7 am, an election official said. Polling is being held in 221 booths in Agartala, Town Bardowali, Soorma and Jubarajnagar seats and will continue till 5 pm.

At least 1,89,032 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise to decide the electoral fate of 25 candidates. Bypolls in Agartala and Town Bardowali constituencies were necessitated after Sudip Roy Burman and Ashish Saha resigned as BJP MLAs and joined the Congress in February.

The Soorma seat in Dhalai district fell vacant after BJP MLA Ashish Das was disqualified by Speaker Ratan Chakraborty and a by-poll to Jubrajnagar was held after the death of CPI(M) MLA Ramendra Chandra Devnath.

Chief Minister Manik Saha, who is not a member of the Legislative Assembly, is contesting against Congress candidate Ashish Saha from Town Bardowali constituency. The Trinamool Congress and the Left Front have fielded candidates on all four seats.


Voting is underway amid tight security for the by-election in Mandar assembly constituency of Ranchi district. Polling will be held from 7 am to 4 pm at 433 polling stations.

The Congress has fielded Shilpi Neha Tirkey, daughter of Bandhu Tirkey, while the BJP has pitted former MLA Gangotri Kujur against her. Rebel BJP candidate Dev Kumar Dhan is contesting as an independent candidate with the support of All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM).

Read also: Emails, WhatsApp chats reveal Sippy told HC judge’s daughter Kalyani about threat to her life

- Advertisement -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -